February Wrap-Up

MEXICO.jpg

Hey guys, so I’ve been inactive throughout February as it’s been a rather crappy month for me and I’ve not really been in the right frame of mind to be posting a lot. I’ve also done a lousy job of reading all the books I planned on getting through and have only read three this month (that’s including the one I was almost finished at the end of January). So in all it’s been horrible.


Personal Recap

So last month I mentioned that I had been job hunting and that I had received a second interview for a job as a support worker in after school care. I’m pleased to say that I got the job and I’m currently awaiting a start date! I’m honestly so excited to finally be able to do something I’m good at and hopefully will enjoy. Other than that, I’ve not really done much else apart from go to lots of gigs and I also went to Birmingham for a few days which was quite nice.


Bookish Recap

Like I said at the start of the post, my reading was awful in February. The only books I got through were;

  • Even Angels Fall – F.L Darbyshire
  • Seed – Lisa Heathfield
  • Fallout –Gwenda Bond

Seed’ has genuinely became one of my favourite books now that I’ve had time to think about the book, plot and characters. Everything about it was just so unique and different from anything I’ve read and I still love how realistic Lisa Heathfield made it seem.

Books I Received:

  • Solitaire – Alice Oseman

Books I Bought:

  • I Am Malala – Malala Yousafzai*
  • Waiting For Callback – Perdita & Honor Cargill
  • Faceless – Alyssa Sheinmel
  • Kindred Spirits – Rainbow Rowell**
  • Spot The Difference – Juno Dawson**
  • The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge
  • How Hard Can Love Be? – Holly Bourne

Reviews Posted:

Part of the reason I never did much reading in February is because I wasn’t really enjoying ‘Fallout’ but I felt like I had to finish it because I had been asked to review it for a website. It took almost the full month just to read that one book and it made me realise that with how I’ve been feeling mentally the past few weeks it’s best I no longer take review requests for a while. I’ve got so many books that I’ve bought over the last year and a half and I haven’t had a chance to read any of them yet because I had a huge list of books to review and I’m using a lot of time reading some books that I’m not even enjoying when I could be reading something else. I tried to organise the requests I got better this year and it was all right in January but more have came through than I expected and it’s starting to stress me out a lot and if I don’t do something now, then the list and my mental health is just going to get worse. As of today, I will no longer be accepting review requests however I am more than willing to host blog tours and giveaways for any authors/publishers etc. I do apologise to you all but at the minute I have to put myself first and plus I don’t want to start hating something I’m passionate about.


 

So there we have my February wrap-up guys. I am gutted to be taking my review requests down but for now it’s probably the best thing to do. I’ll still be posting reviews of the books I’m reading so it’s not as if that will be stopping. It will just be books I’ve bought to enjoy that I review instead.

How did you guys get on in February? Let me know in the comments or even link me to your post!!

Blog Sign

 

One thought on “February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

