December Wrap-Up

DECEMBER WRAP-UP.jpg

Hey guys, so this post is a few days late but I’ve been so busy with work and also family dinners so this is the only chance I’ve had to post over the last few days! Also, I’ve decided I’m going to change the way I do my monthly wrap-ups as I’ve seen different people do different things and I quite liked the way they done it plus it lets you get to know more about me and my life too!

So first off….


Personal Recap

I spent pretty much all of December working between both jobs so it was extremely busy for me and meant that I didn’t get to read as much as I wanted to. I also didn’t get as much family time over the festive season as I would’ve liked either but I’ve managed to make up for that over the last few days with all they big family dinners I’ve had!

Although I was working constantly, both my workplaces are closed on Christmas Day so I got to do all our usual family traditions then which was really nice. It always starts with my sister, mum, dad and myself getting up early to open our presents together and then we all get ready to head to church where we meet with all of my mum’s family for a lovely Christmas service. Afterwards we all head to my gran’s, have breakfast and then exchange presents with everyone there. In the afternoon my Gran usually holds Christmas dinner but one of my aunts did this year and it was so nice being able to sit down and enjoy that time together. My cousin who stays in London came up a day early to surprise us all too which made the day even better!

For Hogmanay (New Years Eve) I managed to get the day off and so I went round to my grans again where some of my aunts, uncles and cousins were and we all brought the bells in together which is another tradition we have too.

I decided to completely clear out my room and tidy it all up just before new year so it looked nicer and I also decided it was time to take all my posters down as I need to try and accept the fact I’m growing up but I still haven’t actually got round to doing that. I just can’t wait for a complete clean slate this year and I’m just hoping I can become a better person in 2016.


Bookish Recap

The best bookish related thing about December was that I took part in Maximum Pop’s Secret Santa and my partner sent me a lovely Christmas card and a copy of The Next Together which I absolutely loved! I sent them a copy of ‘The Miseducation Of  Cameron Post’ as it was the only book I could think of at the time that sort of matched with their preferences!

Books I Recieved:

  • Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli
  • Die Again –  Tess Gerritsen
  • Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone (Illustrated Edition) – J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter Colouring Book 

I didn’t really get a chance to buy myself books in December so these are the books I was given for Christmas!

Books I Read:

  • The Improbable Wonders Of Moojie Littleman – Robin Gregory
  • Fooling Around With Cinderella – Stacy Juba
  • The Next Together – Lauren James

As I said earlier, I didn’t get to read as much as I wanted to last month so I’m really disappointed that I only managed two and a bit books. I did a review of ‘Fooling Around With Cinderella’ which you can check out here. ‘The Next Together’  was the chosen book for the book club I’m part of and then ‘The Improbable Wonders Of Moojie Littleman’  was a book I was given a couple of months ago in exchange of a review. Unfortunately, I couldn’t even make it halfway through this book. I was always making excuses to not read and when I did I was getting distracted easily and just couldn’t get into the story. I’m gutted I couldn’t carry on as I had high hopes for the novel but sadly it did nothing for me. Maybe one day I’ll go back to it but at this moment in time it just isn’t for me.

Reviews Posted In December:


So there we have it, my December Wrap-Up. Tomorrow I’ll be posting my January tbr and then on Thursday I’ll hopefully be posting my goals for 2016 so keep an eye out for both those posts! If you’ve actually made it to the end of this post then thank you for reading it all and also thank you to everyone for following me over the past few months. You really did help make 2015 a good bookish year for me and also made me feel better about my first ever blog!

I look forward to seeing what 2016 brings for all of you!

Love,

Blog Sign

DECEMBER WRAP-UP.jpg

2 thoughts on “December Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

