Holly Bourne – Am I Normal Yet? Review

Title: Am I Normal Yet?

Author: Holly Bourne

Genre: Young Adult, Mental Health, Humour

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: Goodreads

Buy book: Book Depository

Review: THIS BOOK HAS LEFT ME FEELING SO MANY THINGS LIKE WHY????

I honestly don’t know how I’m going to review this book properly without gushing over it because I loved it that much oh my god. Like, I just feel so many good things about it.

The story follows Evie, a young teenage girl who suffers from OCD and anxiety. She has just started at a new college and faces the decision of whether or not she should tell her friends about her illness or not the closer she gets to them. Through the book, we follow the challenges Evie faces and thoughts she has on a daily basis and it gives us a brilliant insight to what it’s like in her head.

I was gripped in this story from the very beginning. I started reading it on the train going to work and on the first page I was laughing, all because she referred to someone as “a sexy ferret.” Bourne’s writing did not disappoint. She flipped between events happening now and events that happened when Evie was unwell but it wasn’t done in a way that would confuse the reader and it still kept a good flow going in the book. One of the main things I loved about this book was the way Bourne made the reader feel what Evie was feeling. The book felt real as you read it and it was as if you were in Evie’s head as her state of mind changed and her health deteriorated. There were moments in the book I was laughing and then other moments I was crying. There was even one point I was angry because the story never went the way I wanted it to go but I eventually got over it and it didn’t ruin the book for me.

Evie is such a strong character and it broke my heart watching her battle with her illness all the time. I was so happy with the friendship she created with Lottie and Amber and prayed she would tell them about her illness because Bourne made it very clear how much the both of them cared for her. When it came to Evie and boys, I hoped she would find someone understanding. Right from the start it seemed that Guy had some sort of feelings for her because of the way he acted around her and the little comments he would make to her.

As well as mental health being spoken about in this book, feminism is another main factor. Evie, Lottie and Amber start their own ‘Spinster Club’ where they discuss a variety of things related to feminism. This book actually helped me understand feminism a bit more as it’s not something I’ve really researched or anything but I felt that the things spoken about in this book have educated me on it more.

I loved how realistic this book was and how relatable each of the characters were. Bourne covered topics that each of us face every day in our life even in we don’t realise it. This book is a must read for EVERYBODY! All of us come across mental illness at one point in our life whether it be an illness we, ourselves have or someone we’re close to. This book tackles such big topics in a serious way but also has that comedy to ease the seriousness a bit. I honestly couldn’t recommend this book enough!

*I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while now and I was so glad when Ally started the UKYA In The Rain book club because this was the first book to be chosen for our first read! If you want more information on the book club and how to join just click on the links to go to the page and also check out Ally’s blog!*

Blog Sign

One thought on “Holly Bourne – Am I Normal Yet? Review

Leave a Reply

