Dark Inside Review

darkTitle: Dark Inside

Author: Jeyn Roberts

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-Fi

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: Goodreads

Buy book: Book Depository

Review: I picked this book up for £1 in the clearance section of a bookstore as I was reading The 5th Wave at the time and this sounded quite similar so I was intrigued to see what it was like. Now that I’ve read it I wish there was so much more hype around this book! It was so much better than I expected it to be.

After multiple earthquakes people start changing and begin to turn on others including their own families and friends making it impossible to trust anyone. Dark Inside follows four characters; Michael, Mason, Clementine and Aries as they come across many struggles in their path to escape the madness that has been caused. Every where they go things seem to be getting worse and people are becoming more and more monstrous. As the book continues the characters eventually find each other and the hunt for safety continues.

I loved this book. It was fast-paced, full of action and there was some horror tied in too. You were thrown into the action pretty much straight away which for me made the story exciting from the start. Each character had their strong points but my favourite was probably Mason as he had it tough from the very beginning, first off losing his mother and on the same day finding out he had lost all his friends too in a terrorist attack. As well as all this and trying to find safety he himself was trying to fight off the madness that was slowly trying to take over him. I’ve seen a lot of people say they didn’t like this book because it had four POVs but for me it made the book even stronger and I felt so many emotions for the characters as they struggled towards safety.

There was so much action packed into this book and a lot of it was very bloody and violent. I liked that with the descriptive language used you could picture it all happening clearly which made it even more exciting! I found a lot of the scenes could be quite scary too. As I said before the reason I bought this book is because it reminded me of The 5th Wave however after reading it and finding out how the madness affects everyone then it turned out to be very similar to The Kill (for those of you who don’t know, that’s the prequel to The Maze Runner). It all sounded extremely like the Flare which takes over someone’s mind. This didn’t put me off the book though as there are many dystopian novels out there that are similar to each other.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and now that I’ve finished it, I’m desperate to read the second book in the series! If you’re a fan of dystopian/apocalyptic/thriller novels then I highly recommend this novel to you. The characters are likeable and when they’re put in certain situations then it makes you question what you would do if you were in the position which I liked because it made you feel like you were involved in the story.

Leave a Reply

