The Keep It Fresh Award

So just under a week ago the lovely Amy at Warm Days Will Never Cease nominated me for this award and now that I’m off work with a muscle spasm in my neck I can finally get around to doing it! This looks like it’s going to be fun so thank you Amy!

The rules are as follows:

  • Post the rules before starting and link back to this post as a reference for other bloggers.
  • Part A: Answer each of the fruit questions (each fruit corresponds to a book!) & add pictures plus why you thought that particular book deserves that particular fruit if possible.
  • Part B: Choose your favourite fruit (even if it is one of the fruits in part A). Come up with a question that we didn’t ask and answer it.
  • Part C: Create your own smoothie from the fruits in Part A (imagine a Lemon-Tomato-Apple smoothie ~ yuck), and find a book that would correlate to your smoothie!
  • Nominate as many and anyone that you think are deserving of this award but it would be nice if you nominated a minimum of 5!
  • Notify your nominees of the nomination (nom nom nom ~ :D)
  • The most important rules? HAVE FUN and of course, KEEP IT FRESH! 🙂

PART A: Fruit Questions

Strawberries: Name the sweetest book you’ve read. (e.g. sweet in terms of the characters or if the story takes place in a sweet world… etc.)

  • There’s two I could choose from but I think I’m going to have to say Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell as I loved everything about this book and the storyline was just so sweet! You can read my review of it here!

Coconut: What is a book that you would bring on vacation with you to a tropical destination? (Or if you’re just relaxing at the beach…)

  • Oooooh this is a difficult one. I can’t pick just one but any book by Jennifer E Smith as I adore her books and I can just see myself lying on a beach reading one of her books

Pineapple: What is a book that you didn’t think you would like by judging its cover/summary/the first few pages but started to grow on you?

  • Tess Of The D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. I didn’t think I would like this book simply because it was a book I had to study for school but I absolutely adore this book and it is now one of my favourite books

Orange: What’s the juiciest book you’ve read? (e.g. A book with tons of action, romance… etc.)

  • The whole The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices series for me. I loved every single thing about these books, the action, romance, characters etc.

Watermelon: A watery book (e.g. There wasn’t tons of substance to the book/the details were just too watery…etc. Don’t get us wrong though, we love watermelons!)

  • The Good Girl by Mary Kubica. This book sounded so promising and then when I read it I really didn’t enjoy it at all. It was predictable and the ending was just disappointing.

Dragonfruit: What’s the most unique book you’ve read? (e.g. Unique in writing style, characters, plot… etc.)

  • I think I have to go with First by Chanda Stafford. I loved this book! The plot was completely different to anything I’ve ever read and I was lucky enough to receive a copy of the second book from Chanda herself which I’m looking forward to reading. You can read my review of First here!

Lemons: Name a book that made you feel sour. (e.g. The emotions were just sour, you just felt sour reading the book, or the book includes sour characters… etc.)

  • The One You Love by Paul Pilkington. I received a copy of this book from Goodreads about a year ago and I’m glad I didn’t go out of my way to buy this book because it was just awful.

Tomato: What is a wonderful book that you think should be more widely known? Or a fantastic author whom you think deserves more recognition? (Since some may not know that tomatoes are actually fruits!)

  • If You Find Me – Emily Murdoch. For a debut novel this book was incredible! I loved the plot and the characters and it makes me sad that I don’t see a lot of people talk about this book. You can check out my review of it here.

Apple: Name a really stereotypical book of a certain genre just like apples which are typical fruits. In the end was that book good or not? (e.g. A very typical contemporary/fantasy book… etc.)

  • Twilight. Although I plan on re-reading this series it is a very stereotypical teenage romance novel

Blueberries: Name a book that made you feel blue. (Any sad, depressing books that you’ve read?)

  • Wintergirls – Laurie Halse Anderson.

Grapefruit: Any bitter books? (e.g. a book that was blue but MORE… do you have any bitter resentments towards characters from a book? Any sour turned bitter emotions? Any uber hateful villains?)

  • The Changeling – Robin Jenkins. This book was heartbreaking and I absolutely detested Mr Forbes.

Jackfruit: Name the most physically heavy book that you’ve ever read. (Because jackfruits are pretty heavy fruits!)

  • My Jane Austen Collection. I haven’t actually read this yet but it’s the heaviest book I own.

Limes: Name a funny book that you’ve read because limes add flavour and so does humour with every book.

  • I don’t know if this book will count but I’m going to say Him & Me – Jack & Michael Whitehall. Jack Whitehall is one of my favourite comedians so when he released his autobiography I just had to buy it. No book has made me laugh as much as this did.

PART B: Favourite Fruit

Choose your favourite fruit and then choose a book that would correspond the best and if your fruit is already taken on our list, make up your own question and answer it.

I’m going to mix this up a bit as I can’t seem to come up with my own question for my favourite fruit so I’m going to say Peaches. Peaches are a fruit I’ve never actually ate but I’ve tried so many peach flavoured things so my question is going to be: A book series that you’ve read part of but haven’t completed? I’ve read the first two books in the Noughts & Crosses series but I’ve yet to buy the last two books to complete it. I enjoyed the first two books so hopefully I’ll get the last two sometime soon to re-read the full series!


Part C: Fruit Smoothies

Finally, choose a book that was a mix of some of these fruits to make your own smoothie. (e.g. A strawberry blueberry lemon smoothie would correlate to a sweet and sad but sour book.)

Strawberry, Apple and  Blueberries (sweet, stereotypical and sad)

The Fault In Our Stars – John Green. This is a book loved by pretty much everyone and it has the sweet teen romance and the heartbreaking scenes too.


I nominate:

I really enjoyed doing this and I hope you all do too! I look forward to reading your post!

Thank you again to Amy for nominating me!

One thought on “The Keep It Fresh Award

Leave a Reply

