Are You Still There Review

 Title: Are You Still There

Author: Sarah Lynn Scheerger

Genre: Young Adult, Suspense, Mystery

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis/Buy Book: Book Depository

Review: I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

Starting this book you are thrown right into action. Gabriella Mallory, the perfect student and daughter is hiding in the bathroom whilst her school is on lockdown after a bomb threat. You automatically feel the panic and fear she is feeling as she is stuck there and it’s as if you are in the situation with her. After the bomb threat interviews begin making every single student in the school a suspect.  As investigations go on throughout the book, Gabriella and a group of peers are chosen to start up an anonymous crisis helpline in order to help the students with any problems they may have and there is the hope that the guilty person will come forward to the helpline. Not long after this starts up the bomber starts to target Gabriella.

I found this book gripping from the start and I think they way Scheerger started the novel off is one of the reasons for this. You can’t help but keep reading to find out why this bomb threat ever happened and I was desperate to find out who it was. There were many points in the book where I was like ‘OOOOH THIS IS WHO IT IS!!!’ but it was too obvious for me to actually be right. At the time I was happy about who it was but now that I’ve had a few days to reflect on it I’m pretty disappointed by who it was. PLEASE DON’T LET THAT PUT YOU OFF THE BOOK THOUGH BECAUSE THE BOOK IS STILL BRILLIANT OKAY!

The characters in this book were great. Gabriella was the perfect daughter and straight A student. She could do no wrong. That is until after the bomb threat and after she meets her new friends and boyfriend. As the book goes on Gabriella’s personality starts to grow. The relationship she has with her sister is one of my favourites in the book as it reminds me of the relationship between my sister and I. The friendship created between Gabriella and Janae whilst being part of the helpline was one of my favourites. It felt so much more genuine than the friendship between Gabriella and Beth. Miguel was another one of my favourite characters. He cared about Gabriella and although he was protective of her he wasn’t possessive apart from one incident in the book. My favourite scenes in the book took place whilst the characters were working during the helpline hours. Everything between each of the characters was a genuine bond rather than them just being nice to each other just because they had to work together.

There really isn’t anything bad I can say about this book apart from the slightly disappointing ending. It was tense, funny, fast paced and the storyline was great. I was sad when I got to the end. I highly recommend this book to you all. You will be gripped throughout the book. Thank you again to NetGalley for sending me a copy of this book for a review.

Leave a Reply

