The 5th Wave Review

Title: The 5th Wave

Author: Rick Yancey

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-fi

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: Goodreads

Buy book: Book Depository

Review: Okay, so I finished this book last night and I’m still not completely over it. I am in love with this novel and Rick Yancey’s writing. There are so many strong points in this book and Yancey not only uses descriptive language to tell the story but his sentence structure reflects what is happening too! There are so many things I enjoyed about this book but there were also some things I disliked.

The storyline was great and has you hooked right from the beginning. Yancey also did an excellent job of creating strong, lovable characters. I felt so much for these characters. Especially Nugget and Zombie. Nugget is such a sweet and innocent character and he definitely holds a special place in my heart. I worried about what would happen to him throughout the whole book. Zombie was strong, brave and did what he could to help others and he was just such a brilliant character. Having Cassie as the main protagonist was brilliant. She was independent and strong and could look after herself when the situation got bad.The action scenes in this novel are some of the best action scenes I’ve read. They were very descriptive but didn’t drag on to the point you got bored. I also loved the fact that none of these characters were indestructible. As they got injured they carried on and would deal with their injuries afterwards (which did happen a lot). There’s also a few twists in the story and for me that makes a book even better! Yancey did a brilliant job of keeping you guessing throughout the book and it was unpredictable.

Now for the minor things I disliked. As I said earlier on, the book has you hooked right from the start but I was also slightly confused at first about what was happening. However, the confusion didn’t last long as I finally got a grip of the story a few chapters in. I loved that each part was from a different character’s point of view but I disliked that you had to sometimes guess who’s POV you were reading as it didn’t give it away straight away. This is most obvious in the second part called ‘Wonderland.’ You didn’t actually find out whose POV it was until the end. Like most YA books out there, there was a small romance mixed in with this storyline. Although it didn’t drag on throughout the whole book, it was a romance that happened pretty much instantly and didn’t really seem realistic.

Overall this is an incredible novel and I’m now about to start The Infinite Sea. I’m praying it’s just as good as The 5th Wave and I hope it actually answers all the questions left unanswered in the first book. If you’re interested in books such as The Hunger Games and Divergent then I highly recommend it to you as it’s something you will most likely enjoy! I’m so glad I bought this book and I can see me reading it again some time in the future.

8 thoughts on “The 5th Wave Review

  1. forwardsandbookwords says:

    I absolutely loved the Fifth Wave, but I definitely also agree with what you said about it being confusing. It’s definitely one of those books that you really have to stick with. I haven’t read the Infinite Sea yet – I can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thenightgirl says:

    I actually just picked this up today because I left a book at home while waiting 4 hours for the fireworks to start. I only got a few chapters in but I’m liking it so far. I tried reading it when it first came out and it just didn’t happen for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

