June Wrap-Up

Can you believe we’re now in July!? This year has flew in! I was going to post my June Wrap-up yesterday but unfortunately I was working.

June was pretty wasted month for me. I had planned to read at least 5 books but only managed to read 3 of the ones I chose.

These were Sabriel and Lirael, both by Garth Nix and Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

Sabriel

I got this book and Lirael a while ago and finally got round to reading them last month. I was extremely disappointed in this book. The story jumped right into the old magic and old kingdom and there was never a great explanation for the old magic and it’s powers. It just kind of started and from then I didn’t really understand anything. When it spoke about the charters and stuff I was lost because I was finding it hard to understand. I don’t know if I’m maybe just slow on picking things up or not but it made me really dislike the book and although I didn’t enjoy it, I had to finish it just to see what happened in the end.

Lirael

This book was slightly better than the first book in the series. However, again there was never any explanation about the old magic etc and both Lirael and Sameth were irritating characters. They were extremely self-pitying and annoying. The only characters I actually liked were the Disreputable Dog and Mogget and of course both of them are animals. Again, I did finish the book because I felt I had to but it was such a waste.

Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland

This book surprised me. I read it because I’ve seen pretty much everyone talk about it and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I was slightly disappointed but I did enjoy it all the same. As I was reading it I got confused but afterwards I read more about the book and started to understand it more.

Although I spent most of the month reading 2 books I didn’t enjoy at all, I’m glad I finished by reading a book that was slightly more enjoyable! Now I’m looking forward to the books I’m reading this month and tomorrow I’ll post about the books on my July TBR List!

Leave a Reply

