Death Wish

                                                                     Title: Death Wish                                                                                                                     Author: Megan Tayte

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24873066-death-wish

Review: I was given a digital copy of this book in return of an honest interview. I had to start this book four times as I found it so hard to get into but once I did eventually get into it I started to enjoy it. Death Wish is the first book in the Ceruleans series and is a good read however I didn’t completely fall in love with it. The characters were likeable but they also had their moments. My favourite character would probably be Cara as she was funny, caring, brave and she had an amazing friendship with the main character Scarlett which made me slightly jealous that I don’t have a friend like her in my life. However, Scarlett is a strong character herself as she is dealing with the loss of her sister and constantly has to deal with her hysterical mother and distant father. Tayte writing about the friendship between Scarlett and Bert are extremely heart-warming and it’s almost like a grandad/granddaughter relationship between them both. Then we get onto the scenes between Scarlett and Luke. Their relationship is sweet and it’s obvious they care so much about each other. Luke is another very strong character and you can’t help but feel sorry for him throughout the novel as he has been through so much in his life and he always goes out of his way to help and protect others.

One thing I disliked this book was Jude. Jude, for me seemed like a pointless character. He didn’t really serve a purpose and was only in the story every so often. His part goes along with the supernatural side of the story so I’m guessing he will be a bigger character in the next books but in Death Wish the supernatural side to the story was only mentioned briefly and it was not clear that this was the direction Tayte wanted to go until the end of the book and I feel that is what let this book down.

Overall, although Death Wish has a slow beginning it did have a strong ending and I will read the next book as I’m intrigued to find out more about Scarlett and her supernatural abilities and I need my questions answered. If you’re interested in books with romance then I highly recommend this but if you’re more interested in the Supernatural/Paranormal genre then I wouldn’t advise this as, as I said before, we don’t get given much information on the supernatural side in this book.

Leave a Reply

