If You Find Me Review

Title: If You Find Me

Author: Emily Murdoch

Genre: Young Adult

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: Goodreads

Review: If You Find Me is an incredibly powerful and heartbreaking debut novel by Emily Murdoch. The narrator of the story is a young girl named Carey with a strong voice. This book follows the story of Carey and her younger sister Jenessa as they both try to fit into a world that they’re not used to. Murdoch makes it easy to connect with each of the characters as it each one has their own individual personality and is likeable in their own way. Everything about this book is raw and real and your heart is always aching for Carey and Jenessa as they try to keep their darkest and deepest secret to save each other which also creates a lot of suspense throughout the book. The love that both these sisters have each other tears at your heart. The description of the woods that Murdoch used made me feel like I was there experiencing everything with both sisters. When describing events in the book, Murdoch did not hold back and for me that made everything much more real. She also did an amazing job of making you feel every emotion possible whilst reading the novel. The one thing that did bother me was the relationship between Carey and Ryan. I wanted to know more as everything moved very quickly between both these characters. I feel I would’ve been more satisfied if there had been a small short story with a bit more between both these characters. As a whole, I thought this book was extremely moving and any book that can make me angry, laugh and cry is a good book in my eyes. I highly recommend this book to all young adults and adults as it is a book that anyone will enjoy. I still find it hard to believe that this book is Emily Murdoch’s debut. It’s one of the best debut novels I’ve read and I’m excited to see what else Murdoch has in store.

2 thoughts on “If You Find Me Review

Leave a Reply

